top of page

Yirmeyahu (Jeremiah) Part 17


[1] The word of Adonai came to Yirmeyahu a second time while he was still imprisoned in the guard’s quarters: [2] Thus says Adonai the maker, Adonai who formed [the universe] so as to keep directing it – Adonai is his name: [3] Call out to me, and I will answer you – I will tell you great things, hidden things of which you are unaware. Jeremiah 33:1-3


The opening of Jeremiah 33 shows us that he is still sitting in prison, and that Adonai gives him a second word, one that is truly remarkable. As I read verses 2 and 3, I took a closer look at the words maker from verse 2 and hidden from verse 3. When looking at each word in the Hebrew, along with the numeric values, it opens up both of these verses to have a deeper meaning than what we just initially read on the surface.


Maker or to make in Hebrew is asah (aw-saw) עשה and has a numeric value of 375. When we break down asha letter by letter we find that Ayin means the eye or insight, Shin means wholeness or completeness, and Hey means breath or God’s presence. With insight from God, we find wholeness or completeness in His presence. He breathes life into us and makes us new every day as His mercies are new every morning. (Lamentations 2:22-23) Two words/phrases that have a numeric value of 375 include chashab (khaw-shab), “Purpose of Yah” and nishkah (nish-kaw) “a cell”. Remember, Jeremiah was in prison when this word came from the Lord. And like Jeremiah and Joseph, sometimes it is when we are in our own spiritual prison cell (nishkah) that our maker (asha) shows us His purpose (chashab) for our lives. He will keep directing not just the universe He formed, but our lives as well when we submit our will to His.


Hidden in Hebrew is batsar (baw-tsar) and has a meaning of being cut off and to make inaccessible. In this verse it relates to secrets and mysteries, or unattainable things. Batsar also means metal, ore, or precious metal. Psalm 19:10(9)-11(10) reads, “The fear of Adonai is clean, enduring forever. The rulings of Adonai are true, they are righteous altogether, more desirable than gold, than much fine gold, also sweeter than honey or drippings from the honeycomb.” Before Yeshua, we were cut off from the preciousness of His righteousness, which is more valuable than any precious metal. But through His saving grace, we are no longer cut off and we have access to the Father through Him. For God is one, and there is but one Mediator between God and humanity, Yeshua the Messiah, himself human who gave himself as a ransom on behalf of all, thus providing testimony to God’s purpose at just the right time. 1 Timothy 2:5-6 Letter by letter, batsar is spelled Bet meaning house or shelter, Sade which means righteousness, and Reysh meaning the power of God, repentance, and the Holy Spirit. When we look at the shadow meaning of each letter, we see Bet holds feeling superior to others, Sade means self-righteousness, and Reysh prideful man. Pride. It will keep us separated and cut off from God every time, but when we shelter in Him, and seek His righteousness we will find the kindness of the Holy Spirit leading us to repentance. When our heart is humble before Him, He will open the way and will reveal those great, hidden mysteries.


Bastar has a numeric value of 292, so let us now look at words and phrases with this value. Mazmerah (maz-may-raw) means pruning knife or hook. In order to dig into the deeper mysteries of God, He has to first take the pruning knife to our spirit and cut away the things in our lives that do not hold spiritual value. Sometimes, He will even require us to do the pruning ourselves. That is when we take up our cross and crucify our flesh so that we may walk more spirit. The next phrase with 292 is “Help of Yah”, which in Hebrew is Azaryah (az-ar-yaw). You might however recognize this name in its Babylonian form, which is Abednego, one of Daniel’s close friends that was tossed in the fiery furnace. It is only with the help of Adonai that we will peer into His mysteries. The final phrases are an Aramaic word, carbal (sar-bal). This word means “to carry or wear” or “garments or trousers”, also translated as “mantle”. In order to go further into the hidden things of God, we have to take on the mantle of the Messiah.


It is amazing how two words redefined two entire verses for me. It is my prayer that He tell me the great and hidden things of which I am unaware, because when He speaks them to my heart, or your heart, we draw closer to Him and know Him more.


Adonai then goes on to tell Jeremiah of the death and destruction coming to his city due to his anger, but then gives a beautiful promise of hope. [6] However, I will bring it health and healing; I will heal them and reveal to them peace and truth in plenty. [7] I will cause the captives of Y’hudah and the captives of Isra’el to return; and I will build them up as I did at first. [8] I will cleanse them from all their sins, through which they offended me. [9] Then the name of this city will bring me joy, praise, and glory before all the nations of the earth that hear about all the good, I am doing for them; they will be overcome with fear and trembling at all the good and peace I am securing for it. Jeremiah 33:6-9


He continues to speak of restoration, joy, gladness, thanksgiving, and return. And then, He speaks of Messiah. [14] “Here, the days are coming,” says Adonai, “when I will fulfill this good promise which I have proclaimed for the house of Isra’el and the house of Y’hudah. [15] When those days come, at that time, I will cause to spring up for David a Branch of Righteousness. He will do what is just and right in the land. [16] When those days come, Y’hudah will be saved, Yerushalayim will live in safety, and the name given to her will be Adonai Tzidkenu (The Lord our Righteousness).” Jeremiah 33:14-16 The greatest promise for both Jew and Gentile. In His promise, Adonai assures Jeremiah that the line and throne of David will never be cut off. So steadfast is His promise that he proclaimed, “If you can break my covenant with the day and my covenant with the night, so that daytime and nighttime no longer come when they are supposed to, then my covenant with my servant David also can be broken.” (v20-21)


At the close of this chapter, Adonai again speaks of His covenant with the day and night, and that He fixed the laws for the sky and earth by saying that were they not so then He would also reject the descendants of Jacob and David. This was because the people were saying that Adonai had rejected His people and despised them. His last sentence was one of hope, love, and promise. “For I will cause their captives to come back, and I will show them compassion.” (v26)


Compassion or racham (raw-kham) is much more than just compassion. It is to love, love deeply, have mercy, and to have tender affection towards another. I am thankful for this promise in my own life, that He brought me to Him and showed me His compassion. I am thankful that I am no longer an exile or in the land of Egypt, but redeemed and united with Him through the blood of Yeshua. I am thankful that Yeshua came to set the captives free and that He freed me from a cell of sin and death, of fear and pain. I am thankful that I can call out to Him, and He will answer me. I am thankful for the Holy Spirit and how He will convict my heart and turn me to repentance. I am thankful for the Branch of Righteousness that shows me that in my own righteousness I will never be good enough, but that when I stand in His righteousness, I am more than enough.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page