top of page

Hineni (Here I am!)


This morning as I was reading my devotions, this word leapt out at me. The translations I use include numerous words in Hebrew rather than in English, and this is one I knew as I have heard Johnathan Cahn preach on it before, and the power behind it.


Today it made me focus on my own life and the times God calls out to me, be it a “here I am in” servitude, or a “here I am” when I feel lost and hurt. I looked up the verses Hineni is used in scripture and then also thought of the times it is implied without the word being used.

The first place the Word uses Hineni is in the book of Genesis. God called out to Abraham, and he replied, “Hineni”. God then instructed Abraham to take his son up the mountain and offer him as a burnt offering. A few verses later, Isaac calls out to his father, who again replies with Hineni. “Behold the fire and the wood: but where is the lamb for a burnt offering?” We know Abraham’s reply to his son, “God will provide Himself the lamb.” The third time this word is used in this story, is when God calls out to Abraham as he is about to take the knife to his son, and as Abraham told Isaac, gives the provision of the ram caught in the thicket. (Genesis 22)


Abraham did not hesitate to respond each time, “Here I am”.

We also find this specific word in the story of Moses at the burning bush, Samuel when he is still young and serving Eli in the Tabernacle when God called out to him, and Isaiah when he replied, “Here I am, send me!” But what about times not relating to actively serving God as in these examples in scripture? My mind went to Hagar when she and Ishmael had been cast out by Sarah. When she knew death was upon her son, and probably herself as well, God called out to her in her moment of distress. From her heart, she no doubt said, Hineni, Here I am, Lord! And he showed her the well and saved her and her son. This is pictured beautifully with Isaiah 12:3, “With joy, you will draw water from the wells of Yeshua (salvation).” Undoubtedly, the revealed well provided salvation and brought joy as she drew from its depths to give her son a drink. It is powerful imagery for us as well. When we are struggling and need a drink of that living water, He will call to us. When we say, “Hineni, here I am!”, and drink once again from Jesus, He will refresh our spirit with joy.


The other person I thought of in this context was Lazarus. As his body lay in the tomb, it appeared that all hope for a response was lost. But when Jesus called him forth, his spirit cried out, “Hineni, here I am, Lord!” and he walked out of that tomb. Jesus has done this for each of us. We were each spiritually dead and, in the grave, yet when He called out to us, we each replied, hineni! We each said, “Here I am!”. We each drank from the wells of Yeshua.

May we each day listen to His voice when He calls out to us. May we each reply hineni when He calls, regardless of whether it is for service or redemption. I know that I have moments that I need to re-draw from that well and refresh my spirit. I also know that there are times that I need to respond immediately as Abraham, Moses, Samuel, and Isaiah did when He calls in the context of ministry in my walk. There have been times I have hesitated, and delayed obedience is disobedience. May we respond to others around us as Abraham did to Issac when they call to us as well so that we are not just a blessing to them, but also to God. We may just have a word in season for them.


We have entered this new year on the Hebrew calendar, the year of the open door with joy and gladness. Let us purpose our hearts to hear and respond. Let us take this one word, this powerful word, and apply it each day of 5784.

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page