top of page

Let It Rain


Last Friday, our AC decided to bite the dust. In Oklahoma summers, that is a pretty serious situation. I kind of felt like Thomas in this last Episode of The Chosen, “This is literally our last meal.”, and at first let my anxiety do a dance in my spirit. The like Jesus told Thomas when he brought the situation to Him, “This is something to talk to My Father about.”, to which Thomas replied, “Pray?” Yep, pray. So that’s what I did.


Prayer, an amazing thing that. As soon as I turned my eyes towards Him, the anxiety lifted and while I won’t say that God did this just for me, I won’t say He didn’t either. After multiple days of triple degree heat, the windows of heaven opened, and it started to rain. Five days later, we are still in cooler temperatures and blessed with rain. We have been able to keep our windows open and fans blowing, keeping our house comfortable without a problem. He went before me, and my AC and had a way made before I even prayed. I believe that 100%. We are still waiting for the heat and air guy to get here, and the God I serve is keeping the temperatures steady until he can.


This morning, for the first time in a few months, I felt the urge to grab my camera. I have a passion for photography, but that has taken a bit of a back seat for a while as I have been so intent on seeking in God’s Word. Today however, I felt that urge to capture some shots of this beautiful soft rain, after editing them, I felt the urge to write about it, so here we are.

The word rain in Hebrew is matar (maw-tar) made up of the letters Mem (מ), Teth (ט), and Resh (ר). And has a numeric value of 249. Another set of words with the same value is terem (the-rem) which means to wait for, to expect, expectation, not yet. It is made up of the same Hebrew letters just in a different order.


Mem is symbolic of open knowledge unless it is in its final form such as in terem. In its final form it means hidden knowledge. Resh is symbolic of the Holy Spirit and repentance, and Teth inward examination and again, repentance.


There is a song that I used to play for praise and worship services by Michael W. Smith that simply says,

“Let it rain, let it rain. Open the floodgates of heaven.”


I am thankful for the natural rain that is watering and nurturing my herbs and garden. But more than that, I am thankful for the spiritual rain. I am thankful for His kindness that leads me to repentance and the rivers of living water. I am thankful that when I wait in expectation of Him, even when His answer to my prayer is “not yet”, He will still rain down upon me. Spirit of the living God, rain down on me!


Part of me longs to go stand out in my yard, my face and hands towards heaven and let the rain wash over me from head to toe. Who knows, I just might.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page